Again two challan forms for VAT payment under Punjab VAT Act, 2005

 It is for the information of all concerned readers of blog that for VAT payment under Punjab VAT Act, 2005 two challans are required to be filled up. One is VAT-2 and other is VAT-2A. Earlier only one consolidated challan i.e VAT-2 was introduced in suppression of the three challans i.e VAT-2, VAT-2A and VAT-2B w.e.f 14-12-2011. It was a relief for the common taxpayer after the introduction of one consolidated challan in form VAT-2.

But w.e.f 29-06-2012 rule 37(2) of Punjab VAT Rules has been amended and a new challan VAT-2A has been again introduced which is to be used for payment of 11% of VAT amount in the Punjab Municipal Fund’s account. So every dealer while depositing VAT under Punjab VAT act, 2005 should use two challans in form VAT-2 and VAT-2A.

The relevant notification and challan forms VAT-2 and VAT-2A are as follows:  



The   29 June,  2012
No.G.S.R./32/P.A.8/2005/S.70/Amd.(43)/2012-In exercise of the powers conferred by sub-section (1) of section 70 of the Punjab Value Added Tax Act, 2005 (Punjab Act No. 8 of 2005), and all other, powers enabling him in this behalf, the Governor of Punjab is pleased to make the following rules, further to amend the Punjab Value Added Tax Rules, 2005, namely:-
1         (1)        These rules may be called the Punjab Value Added Tax (Second Amendment) Rules, 2012.
(2)       They shall come into force on and with effect from the date of their publication in the Official Gazette.
2          In the Punjab Value Added Tax Rules, 2005, in rule 37,for sub-rule (2), the following shall be substituted namely:-

 "(2)Eighty Nine percent of the payments, payable under the Act or these rules, shall be made in the Challan Form VAT-2 and the eleven percent  of such payments shall be made in Form VAT-2A.  These Forms shall be available  free of cost  at the office of the District Excise and Taxation Officers."

                                           C.S. SHRIVASTAVA
  Financial Commissioner, Taxation and
             Secretary to Government of Punjab.
                                         Department of Excise and Taxation.

Share |


Post a Comment